3rd Workshop and Summer School

The 2017 CRITICS Summer meeting will be held in Valladolid, Spain, 4-15 September 2017.

Recent results by mathematicians and scientists working in different fields of applications suggest the existence of generic early-warning signals that could indicate for a large class of systems if a tipping point is being approached. The focus of this workshop will be on extensions of the bifurcation theory for nonlinear systems to nonautonomous (deterministic or random) dynamical systems.

Our workshop aims to capture the very recent developments in this rapidly developing field and to bring together some of the leading applied scientists and mathematicians currently starting to shape a theory for critical transitions in complex systems, with the aim to exchange ideas, promote inter-disciplinary research and develop international collaborations.

The organizing and the scientific committees invite you to join and enjoy the picturesque capital of Castile and León, Valladolid, in the early days of September, sure that such a visit will provide a unique framework for meeting interesting people and a scientifically productive involvement.

All the information about the meeting, including the program, abstracts of the courses and of the scientific talks, accommodation, internet access and more, can be found in the booklet available here. Participants will be given a printed copy at the registration desk.


The meeting starts with a summer school for doctoral students, young researchers, and also open to interested senior researchers. It consists of four courses:

  • Random Dynamical Systems
    Jeroen Lamb (Imperial College London).
  • Statistical Mechanics of the Climate System
    Valerio Lucarini (University of Reading).
  • Chaos: why, where and how much.
    Carles Simó (Universitat de Barcelona).
  • Biological cell state transitions characterized by dynamical systems theory
    Alexander Skupin (University of Luxembourg).

More information about the doctoral school can be found here.

The workshop starting the second week features the following speakers:

Invited speakers:

Roberto Barrio (Universidad de Zaragoza)
Mickael Chekroun (University of California, Los Angeles)
Luonan Chen (Shanghai Institute for Biological Sciences)
Ulrike Feudel (Universität Oldenburg)
Alan Hastings (University of California, Davis)
Nick Jones (Imperial College London)
Angel Jorba (Universitat de Barcelona)
Frank Kwasniok (University of Exeter)
Cristina Masoller (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
Rafael Obaya (Universidad de Valladolid)
Jens Starke (University of Rostock)
Dmitry Turaev (Imperial College London)

Contributed speakers:

Peter Ashwin (University of Exeter)
Peter Giesl (University of Sussex)
Boumediene Hamzi (AIFaisal University)
Iacopo P. Longo (Universidad de Valladolid)
Kathrin Padberg-Gehle (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg)
Ilya Pavlyukevich (Friedrich Schiller University Jena)
Lucia Pérez (Universidad de Oviedo)
Paul Ritchie (University of Exeter)
Pablo Rodríguez-Sánchez (Wageningen University)
Anna Vanselow (University of Oldenburg)
Sebastian Wieczorek (University College Cork)
Chun Xie (University College Cork)

The workshop will also include a posters session.

A temptative schedule for the workshop can be found hereThe list of abstracts will be soon online. 

A list of participants can be found here.

This meeting is part of the activities of the doctoral training network CRITICS: a world-leading European research consortium made up of eight European partners. It provides a unique multidisciplinary training environment for fifteen postgraduates for project work lasting for 36 months. You can find more information at on the CRITICS network.

Scientific committee

Henk Dijkstra (IMAU – University of Utrecht)
Carmen Núñez (Universidad de Valladolid)
Rafael Obaya (Universidad de Valladolid)
Martin Rasmussen (Imperial College London)
Alexander Skupin (University of Luxembourg)

Organizing committee

Iacopo P. Longo (Universidad de Valladolid)
Ismael Maroto (Universidad de Valladolid)
Sylvia Novo (Universidad de Valladolid)
Carmen Núñez (Universidad de Valladolid)
Rafael Obaya (Universidad de Valladolid)
Ana M. Sanz (Universidad de Valladolid)